User Rating: 5 / 5

Star ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar Active

Canon Nine — The Sacramental Ministry

  1. Baptism
    The first rite of initiation into the church, which signifies the cleansing from original sin, and conferral of sanctifying grace through the indwelling of the Holy Spirit.

  2. Confirmation
    Through the anointing with oil and the laying on of hands, the bishop or duly authorized priest confers the graces of the Holy Spirit upon a Christian. In receiving the Spirit, the Christian is strengthened with the gifts he will need to take on an adult role in the Christian community.

  3. Holy Eucharist
    Holy Eucharist is the celebration through which we renew and participate in Christ’s birth, sacrificial death, resurrection, and ascension into heaven. During this celebration, we receive the Real Presence of the actual Body and Blood of Christ, given to us under the forms of bread and wine for our spiritual nourishment.
    a. The practice of the CCIA is that all baptized believers are welcomed to the Table of the Lord.

    b. Pastoral guidance and catechesis is essential in advising parishioners regarding the nature of the sacrament – “Whoever, therefore, eats the bread or drinks the cup of the Lord in an unworthy manner will be guilty concerning the body and blood of the Lord. Let each person examine their self, then, and so eat of the bread and drink of the cup. For anyone who eats and drinks without discerning the body eats and drinks judgment upon them self.” (1 Corinthians 11:27-29)

  4. Confession/Reconciliation
    We acknowledge that a sincere prayer of sorrow to our God will bring the response for His forgiveness. We also believe that Christ left us a special sacrament, which is a powerful encounter with Jesus Christ and His loving forgiveness. Also called the Sacrament of Reconciliation, Penance can be celebrated in two ways:

    a. Individual absolution is usually preceded by a Christian’s confession of personal sins. The priest’s prayer of forgiveness or absolution is said for each sincere penitent, at which time his additional gift of grace is imparted.

    b. General Absolution is sacramental absolution, given once to a large number of people, especially when the number of penitents is too great to allow for individual confession of sins.

  5. Sacrament of the Sick
    The Sacrament of the Sick consists of the anointing of sick members of the Christian community with oil and prayers for their healing and forgiveness. The effects of this sacrament are strength and peace for the Christian in the face of his illness, physical healing and recovery according to God’s will.

  6. The Sacrament of Matrimony
    Marriage is understood as a permanent covenant between a baptized man and a baptized woman, is a sacrament of the Church. As a covenant, marriage is a lifelong, permanent commitment, embodying obligations that transcend the immediate feelings or wishes of the husband and wife. By coming to restore the original order of creation disturbed by sin, Christ himself gives the strength and grace to live marriage in the new dimension of the Reign of God. Recognizing the nearly complete breakdown of moral norms in this society, the Church understands that many persons will come to her having experienced the tragedy of divorce. It is the commitment of the Church and her bishops, in every case, to work toward the healing and restoration of the marriage covenant.

  7. Holy Orders
    This Is the Sacrament through which the Church sets aside people for the special service of ministry to the Christian community. This sacramental act is called ordination. There are three ranks or major orders in the ministry of the Church. They are: Deacon, Priest, and Bishop